Mustang GT amps (Firmware 2.0 and higher) now have cloud-based backup and restore features for presets and Setlists, both using the Fender ToneTM app! A Fender Connect account is necessary to use these features (Fender Connect accounts can be created on the Fender website at www.fender.com/tone by clicking Sign In from the top right of the screen or from the Tone app by tapping My Account from the Settings screen).
To backup all presets and Setlists to the cloud, first connect to Fender Tone and open the app. In the app, go to the “SETTINGS” menu at the bottom of the screen, then select “BACKUP/RESTORE”:
The first time a backup is created, you will be prompted to select “CREATE A BACKUP”, then to enter a backup name:
After a backup name is entered, a warning screen will prompt you select “OK BACKUP NOW” or “CANCEL”:
After selecting “OK BACKUP NOW”, the “BACKUP IN PROGRESS” and “BACKUP SUCCESSFUL” screens appear, indicating that all presets and Setlists are now backed up. Then select “DONE”:
Alternately, a “BACKUP FAILED” screen may appear, after which you can select “TRY AGAIN” or “CONTACT SUPPORT”. If the backup fails again after selecting “TRY AGAIN”, a second “BACKUP FAILED” screen will prompt you to select “CONTACT SUPPORT” or to select “GOT IT”, which will return you to the “BACKUP/RESTORE” screen:
Backups are logged by time and date in the cloud; this backup log can be viewed in the Fender Tone app. By selecting the “edit” symbol at upper right (green arrow), a backup can be deleted; note that doing so deletes the backup from the cloud, not merely from the backup log. Also note that when creating subsequent backups after the first one, the “CREATE A BACKUP” button is replaced by a plus symbol at upper right (yellow arrow):
RESTORING/DELETING PRESETS AND SETLISTS
To restore or delete presets and Setlists from the cloud, first connect to Fender Tone and open the app. In the app, go to the “SETTINGS” menu and press “BACKUP/RESTORE”:
A list of the backups already created will appear; select the one to be restored from the list. A screen detailing the backup will then appear; select “RESTORE” or “DELETE”:
For maximum certainty when selecting “RESTORE,” two successive warning prompts appear for which the user selects “RESTORE” or “CANCEL” two more times:
After selecting “RESTORE” from both warning prompts, the “RESTORE IN PROGRESS” and “RESTORE SUCCESSFUL” screens appear; then select “DONE” and then restarts the amplifier:
Alternately, a “RESTORE FAILED” screen may appear, prompting you to select “TRY AGAIN” or “CONTACT SUPPORT”. If the restore fails again after selecting “TRY AGAIN”, a second “RESTORE FAILED” screen then prompts to select “CONTACT SUPPORT” or “GOT IT”, which will return you to the “BACKUP/RESTORE” screen:
When “DELETE” is selected, the steps are similar to those described above—a “DELETE” warning screen appears, followed by a “DELETE IN PROGRESS” screen. The result will be either a “DELETE SUCCESSFUL” screen in which you can select “DONE,” or a “DELETE FAILED” screen. When a delete fails, you can make two further attempts; if these fail, you will be presented with the “CONTACT SUPPORT” and “GOT IT” options described above.